Recognising excellence in Africa’s oil and gas: Big Five Board Awards 2019

Maggy Shino Petroleum Commissioner Ministry of Mines Energy NamibiaThe winners of the Big Five Board Awards 2019 were announced at the Geological Society of London on 21 November at a ceremony attended by more than 100 senior oil and gas executives active in Africa

At the event, the Frontier team ran a charity auction for the Gondwana Conservation Foundation and the Tikki Hywood Trust, and more than US$12986 was raised for the charity.

The Big Five Board Awards offer an opportunity to celebrate excellence recognising both individuals and companies that excel in their E&P activities across Africa and are the only awards dedicated to Africa’s upstream industry.

The Big Five Awards have been in existence for 23 years and this year there have been an unprecedented number of nominations from the African oil and gas community. Event host, Frontier, thanked the sponsors PGS, Progressive TSL and MGGS for their financial input, hard work and time.

This year for the first time, an illustrious judging panel of independent petroleum industry experts was used, who guided the overall decision-making process. Frontier also thanked the judges, who included; Paul Eardley-Taylor of Standard Bank, Sola Adepetun of ACAS-Law (Adepetun, Caxton-Martins, Agbor & Segun), Mark Llamas of GMP First Energy, Nicolas Bonnefoy of Africa Oil & Gas and Peter Dolan.

The keynote speaker, Ade Adeola of Standard Chartered Bank, presented a bright vision of Africa’s oil and gas future with insight into the importance of gas in the continent’s future energy mix and the importance of ensuring that small-scale/ domgas projects are financed in the same way that larger-scale gas projects are supported by lenders and the positive impact that this will have for the quality of life of people in Africa living without power.

The Big Five Board Awards 2019 winners are:

-Distinguished Individual Contribution to the African Industry, the Elephant
Winner: Adrian Bligh accepted on behalf of Adrian by Marit Bligh.

-Corporate Contribution to African Petroleum & Excellence. The Lion
Winner: Kosmos Energy.

-Independent Player in Africa of the Year. The Leopard
Winner: Seplat Petroleum Development Company.

-African National Oil Company of the Year – The Rhino
Winner: Petrosen.

-Service & Supply Company of the Year, The Buffalo
Winner: Schlumberger.

-Africa’s Oil Legend Award
Winner of Africa’s Oil Legend Award, Special Category is Patrick Pouyanné - CEO, Total.

-Big Five Award for Achievement in African Leadership
Winner: Maggy Shino, Petroleum Commissioner, Ministry of Mines & Energy, Namibia.

Alain Charles Publishing, University House, 11-13 Lower Grosvenor Place, London, SW1W 0EX, UK
T: +44 20 7834 7676, F: +44 20 7973 0076, W:

twn Are you sure that you want to switch to desktop version?